Trek to Land of Many Waters and Swimmers

As I mentioned in my last blog, my watery playground trek got off to a bad start, but improved rapidly.  I was reunited with some old friends and we spent hours reminiscing on our youthful days.  I was reminded of our camping days in the hinterland, and some adventures we shared.  On one occasion, we camped by the water’s edge of a creek, and next morning we saw jaguar tracks all around our tent, and leading down to the creek.  We hastily removed out tent and moved inland.

jaguar

Pic of jaguar from my friend Dmitri Allicock

Jaguars are dangerous animals, and I once met a person whose right cheek bore several deep scars.  When he was a child, a jaguar had attacked him and clawed his face, but the jaguar had been scared off by his parents before it had done further harm.

Today, jaguars are rare, and The Guyana Times claims that Guyana is dubbed one of the last places on Earth where the jaguar thrives.  They are also good swimmers, and unlike many other cats, jaguars do not avoid water.  Fortunately we never encountered a jaguar face to face in our camping trips.

It is no wonder Guyana is called the land of many waters with so many rivers and streams, and in many instances swimming becomes a necessity.  Even herding cattle involves some swimming.  In the picture below (from my friend Dmitri Allicock), you can see cattle being herded and swimming across a river.  

cattle

As I had mentioned in a previous blog, most kids learn to swim at an early age.  Unfortunately not all people become swimmers, but some still venture into the water, in shallow areas.  However, as most swimmers (and lifeguards) know, water can be treacherous.   Even shallow water can be misleading since there may be deeper parts not visible to the eye, and many rivers carry strong undercurrents.     

On two separate occasions I have been lucky in saving persons from drowning.  One person was splashing in shallow water in a creek and slipped into the deep end, while the other was soaking her feet at the river’s edge, and slipped in.  I advised them to take swimming classes as soon as possible, or keep away from unknown waters.  I hope they took my advice.

water

Water, water everywhere!  In the pictures above, you can see a man on his way home from work cycling in the water, while children are having fun playing in the water (pics from Dmitri Allicock). 

In my next post, I will continue writing about my watery trek.  But in the meantime I would like to know if any of you blogging friends were ever saved from drowning, or know someone who was.  I bet it was a traumatic event!

Categories: adventure travel, amazon, Amerindians, author, food, foreign travel, global, health, holistic, lake, lifestyle, macaw, medicine, monkey, natural healng, natural herbs, parrot, Photographs, photography, rainforest, river, swim, swimming, travel, trekking, Uncategorized, world, writer, writing | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Trek to Land of Many Waters and Swimmers

  1. These are fascinating photos as is your text.
    My father once saved my sister from drowning. It was Sunday afternoon and as many families did, we had gone to the beach (a lake) for a picnic and a swim. When my father saw my sister struggling in the water he ran in, clothing and all, to save her. What is most courageous about this is that my father didn’t know how to swim!
    Thank you for following my blog and for bringing me to yours:)

    • Carol, he is a very brave man, but I guess when a child is in difficulty, a parent throws caution to the wind. Your sister is very lucky! I hope she learned to swim. Thank you for your kind comments! It was a pleasure to visit your blog.

  2. Thanks so much for your very kind comments! This looks like a wild and adventurous place to be. Oh my, I was never saved from drowning nor do I know anyone who was. I can not imagine how very scary that would be. A panic situation to be sure! Hopefully you did not have any problems. This gentleman riding his bike in the water..boy that looks difficult at best! thanks for sharing your travels with us all. Much love and light to you and have a blessed day!

  3. Great post and it’s great to see a fellow adventurer. When I’m visiting here, I feel like I’m at home!

    • Anne, thanks for stopping by! Yes, it’s a great community, isn’t it? Keep up your blogging and I hope to read more of your adventures.

  4. Hey Terry,

    It’s great to see your posts in my reader again! I see you have a few new articles.

    • Iosif, nice to see you again! I hope the photography is progressing well as your other endeavors. Have a great weekend!

      • Thank you, I’ve been doing a lot of stuff lately, this is why I didn’t blog so often or worked on the things that I used to occupy my time with.

  5. Great photos and information Terry! When I was a toddler I instinctively started to float underwater in a pool. My eyes were open and I could see peoples’ legs. My Mom, who was pregnant and at the side of the pool was panicking and thought I would drown and was screaming for someone to rescue me. I remember thinking how cool it was to be doing what I was doing until mom panicked. After that I was afraid of water until I was 8 or 9 years old and got basic lessons through the brownies. I’m not a strong swimmer, but ever since then I love water in the summertime and cooling off, etc.
    Diana xo

    • Hi Diana, I still love doing that in the pool.😄. Water has healing properties, and is very good for exercise, especially for back pain and knee pain. I hope you are doing well.

  6. That’s a lot of water! And it’s good to know the jaguar is doing well in Guyana. When I was about 7 or 8 I was dragged under by the surf at a beach. I managed to recover by myself but it was very scary. I was a good swimmer even at that age but I was still scared.

    • Gallivanta, thank you for your comments. I can imagine your ordeal as a child, and it’s a sign of your resilient nature that you wre able to overcome and continue swimming! Keep safe!

  7. Your photos are beautiful.

  8. So glad to hear that things worked out well still! those photos are absolutely amazing, So many things you don’t see being so far into the concrete jungle 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

