Trek to Land of Many Waters!

guyana-rainforest-guyana times

 Photo Credit: Pete Oxford/Nature Picture Library

In my last blog, I mentioned how nostalgia and images of my childhood life prompted a trek to the watery playground of my youth in South America.  As kids, our playground was a stream that ran through our backyard, and our young lives revolved around that stream.

waterlily

Chris Leadbeater Photo

 I remember the stream was dotted with water lilies, and sometimes little yellow ducklings would swim by in a straight line.  We all learnt to swim in that stream, and spent most of our free time there.  A mango tree overhung the stream and we would climb the tree and pick ripe mangoes, or jump from the branches into the water.  We fished in the stream using bent needles as hooks, and cooked the fish we caught over an open fire under the mango tree.  Some of us made rafts out of banana suckers (tree trunk) and sailed down the stream looking for adventure.

 I was not seeking adventure on my trek, but it started off badly.  My flight originated from New York to the West Indies, a layover in Trinidad and Tobago, and then a connecting flight to Guyana in South America.  The flight was delayed and I made the connecting flight with minutes to spare.  When I finally arrived at the Guyana airport, I found that my luggage had not been transferred to the connecting flight.  It arrived the following day with several items missing, including my camera, video camera, and photographic equipment.   This was devastating to me, because I had planned to make a documentary of my trek.   To add insult to injury, it took countless hours shuffling among several unsympathetic staff, before I could file a claim for a paltry reimbursement.

playing in water

A Harmony and Travis pic of kids playing over a stream

  • Important Advice!

As savvy travelers know, expensive equipment should be stored in your carry on, not in your checked luggage.  If you are a first time traveler, please heed that rule!  Another word of advice when traveling to unfamiliar countries… please be extra careful with your luggage.  Persons pretending to assist you, or claiming to be taxi drivers can make off with them.  Additionally, when leaving that country, be vigilant of your luggage.  Airport workers have been known to slip drugs into your suitcases, and use you as an unsuspecting mule to bring their drugs out of the country.   If you are caught, the authorities are not very sympathetic to your plight, and you face jail time.

 If any of you blogging friends have encountered similar problems, please share them and make this a learning process for all of us.

 As you digest these warnings, I will stop here and continue writing about this trek on my next blog.

Categories: adventure travel, amazon, author, big apple, food, foreign travel, garden of eden, health, holistic, humor, lake, lifestyle, macaw, medicine, monkey, natural healng, natural herbs, novel, parrot, pepperpot, Photographs, photography, rainforest, river, sakiwinki, stinking toe, toucan, travel, trekking, Uncategorized, united nations, world, writer, writing | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Trek to Land of Many Waters!

  1. Thanks for following my blog. I am following you as well and look forward to reading your posts! Much love and light to you and have a blessed day!

  2. Not a happy start to your trek. Looking forward to the next part of your adventure.

  3. Oh, I’m so sorry to read this – especially as it is the first time reading your blog! But as you say, these things teach us valuable lessons….. I once got my pocket picked in Rome and lost my train pass, cash and a couple of other important things. Crisis time! I learnt a lot!! 🙂

    • Pauline, thank you for stopping by! Yes, life is a learning process. Rome can be fun but not always. Gladiators were not happy people too…”Ave, Imperator, morituri te salutant”
      They had it worse😄

  4. So sorry to hear that – how disappointing…
    Diana

  5. You really had a bad experience. One should never put camera and other valuables in checked baggage. I have seen people are overly zealous to help you.. One guy was trying to lend his cell phone to my husband to call. I warned my husband in English not to take it.It’s an added advantage if you know a language other than the locals.

  6. So, I assume you didn’t get to take photos in Guyana?

    • Renx…I did acquire a cheaper smaller camera there and took some pics, but not of any great quality. I was disappointed however that I could not do a documentary. I will showcase a few pics that friends took also. Next time, I will be much smarter 😄

  7. Oh geez, Did you at least get a chance to get some of your equipment back? that’s a shame that you were welcome in such a harsh manner 😦

    • Andy, no, all gone..stolen. But that is the hazard of trekking to less developed nations. You have to be prepared to take a few risks. 😄

      • Damn, so sorry you had to have that happen. If I was doing travel like so I am SO keeping everything in my carry on :O

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

