Trek to the Water

I have been away from blogging for a long period of time and I have not kept in touch with all my blog friends, mainly due to internet unavailability and also a brief illness on my last trek.  However, I am back here among a great group of friends who write, read, make comments, and give valuable feedback and much needed support!

Once in a while, nostalgic memories assail us all, and images of childhood life and adventures flash across our minds.  Mine started at the beach and resulted in my latest trek.

Each summer I spend a week at a beach house with my very young grandkids.  We make daily treks to the beach where they happily play in the sand, but staunchly refuse to go into the water.  Last summer, we occupied a house with a swimming pool, and of course they refused to set foot in the pool.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My young grandkids made me realize, as many of you do, the importance of teaching children to swim.  Each time I see kids close to water, my mind flashes back to my childhood, and I relive a vague, yet poignant memory of my two-year old brother gasping for breath and sinking in a stream.

Although I cannot recall everything that transpired, apparently my frantic screams alerted a neighbor, who jumped in the stream and rescued him from drowning.  Many children are not so lucky.   According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), approximately 10 people drown every day in the U.S., and more than one in five are children under fourteen years of age.

My blogging friends, if any of you have young children, can they swim?  If not, I urge you to seriously consider swimming lessons.

After that incident, many of the neighborhood kids learned to swim in that same stream. I actually learned by holding on to a banana sucker (the trunk of a banana tree), and kicking my way around. Some kids used a bucket, grabbing on to the sides and kicking, while trying to avoid getting water in the bucket.  Our young lives revolved around that stream, and we shared many adventures, including fishing, rafting, and water sports.

It is hardly any wonder that on my trek to the beach with my grandkids, I had the nostalgic urge to make a trek to my childhood watery playground. In case if you are wondering if my grandkids ventured into the pool…I was successful in coaxing them into the water, and commenced their swimming lessons!

safia-swim mia swim

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I would like to hear your stories on your children and grandchildren and how they learnt to swim.  Were they afraid of the water?

 

michael-phelps_883x1200Here is an excerpt of the bio of a famous swimmer. Do you know him?  Michael Phelps’ performances at the 2004 and 2008 Olympics have brought him strong consideration as the greatest ever Olympian. He has surpassed the records of Mark Spitz and Johnny Weissmuller and is considered the greatest swimmer ever.  At the Beijing Olympics, Phelps won eight swimming events and became the first Olympian to win eight gold medals at one Olympic Games.

Are there any future Olympians out there?

 

Categories: adventure travel, amazon, Amerindians, foreign travel, garden of eden, global, humor, lake, lifestyle, macaw, monkey, parrot, Photographs, photography, rainforest, river, sakiwinki, stinking toe, travel, trekking, Uncategorized, united nations, wailing wall, world, writer, writing | 29 Comments

Post navigation

29 thoughts on “Trek to the Water

  1. What a great and very important reminder to us all regarding our children and grandchildren. I have three children and 4 grand children and one on the way. I have been greatly blessed. My children learned to swim in preschool and my twin girls competed in swimming on their swim team in high school. They both medaled at State competitions. So, very good swimmers. All of my grand children have been thrown in the pool early as young babies to teach them to swim. Since my daughters are the only ones who have the children, it will serve all of my grandson’s well. (We are hoping for at least one granddaughter this time) We will see. Thanks for a great reminder! Much love and light to you and have a blessed day!

  2. Glad you are feeling better. In my early years I was a lifeguard and taught swimming. Obviously I am a firm believer in the value of learning to swim.

    • Sueslaght, thanks for stoping by, and it’s wonderful you are a water person too. Lifeguards are very important, and save lives! Congratulations!

  3. Great post and welcome back! Thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. Not only a good sport and a life saver, swimming is also good to shed those extra kilos 🙂

  5. Good to see you back! Swimming is not only a means to prevent people from drowning, it is also regarded as one of the best exercises to shed extra kilos! Never learnt to swim myself but can not underestimate the importance of this great physical activity! And yes, My grand-kids are learning to swim!

  6. Welcome back! Great post – the importance of learning to swim cannot be underestimated. 🙂

  7. Ricky

    Welcome back. Don’t forget CPR

  8. So glad you have started your grandkids on swimming lessons. Learning to swim and learning water safety are so important. Glad your trek has brought you back to your blog.

  9. My niece is unafraid of water but my son is afraid of pool 😛

  10. Nice to see you back on the blog. I’ve had a few unfortunate events over the past few months myself. They make us truly appreciate life, health, and love.

  11. Completely agree about swimming. Glad you’re back!

  12. Doris

    Great photo love that man in the chair.
    It is true, my cousin daughter almost drown years ago, good post.

  13. I agree that everyone should learn to swim. Welcome back!
    Diana xo

  14. Nice to hear from you.You are right everyone should learn to swim it is enjoyable and saves one from drowning.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

