My Trek to Garden of Eden in search of Magic Tree with Stinking Toes.

adamWe know the story of Adam and Eve who ate the forbidden fruit and were cast out from Garden of Eden.  Coincidentally, my trek took me to Garden of Eden to locate a rare fruit and its tree of magical properties.  This rare fruit cures a multitude of ailments while the resin from the tree is used to make love potions and magic rituals.  Unfortunately I am ignorant of the love potion industry, but I am interested in fruits with healing properties.

The name of the fruit also piqued my interest and prompted my quest.  This fruit is very tasty and appetizing, and carries the seductive name of “stinking toe”!

Yes, it is really called “stinking toe” because of its shape and smell.  The fruit is shaped like a toe and encased in a rock hard shell that can only be cracked open by a hammer or large stone.

stinktoe

When the shell is broken, the exposed fruit smells like really stinky feet, hence the appropriate name.  Despite the stinky feet smell however, the fruit is very delicious.

Bizarrefood.com anns blogrefers to the stinking toe fruit as,”tasty and sweet, and downright addicting once you’ve tasted it for the first time”.

Although the tree is generally found deep in the rainforest, my research revealed that the stinking toe tree, although rare, can be found on the coast of Guyana, (formerly British Guiana) in South America.  Since I am familiar with that region, it was an easy trek to get there.  Several local senior residents knew of the stinking toe fruit, but no one seemed to know the location of a stinking toe tree.

I decided to fall back on Sherlock Holmes’ strategy.  If you are a fan of Sherlock Holmes, you would have heard of “the Baker Street Irregulars”, a gang of street children who successfully gathered information for him.  In similar fashion I enlisted my brother’s help in recruiting some local youths, and within two days I had a location.  A tree was spotted in a village called Garden of Eden!

???????????????????????????????

The stinking toe tree’s official name is Hymenaea courbaril, also called the Jatoba tree.  It is a hardwood tree that usually grows up to 148 feet and may live for hundreds of years.  The rainforest indigenous tribes have been using the jatoba leaves, bark, and fruit for centuries as herbal medicine.  Recent clinical studies of the bark, leaves, and resin of the jatoba tree show that it has anti-microbial, anti-fungal, anti-bacterial, molluscicidal, and anti-yeast properties.  Present day medicinal use is widespread in South America as can be seen below in the chart from Raintree Tropical Plant Database.

raintree

As I mentioned earlier, I was successful in locating the stinking toe or jatoba tree.  However, the tree was relatively young and not bearing any stinking toe fruit.  But all is not lost…the local Baker Street irregulars, or to be specific, the local barefoot, stinking toe searchers are still on my payroll.  As soon as I get a whiff of a stinking toe, I will pull on clean socks and boots, and dash off on a new trek!

foot

.

The prehistoric Hymenaea tree family has existed on earth for millions of years, and the fossilized resin from these trees  forms amber.   As seen in Jurassic Park, some amber have been found with insects trapped inside for millions of years.  

amber-1

Google Images of Insects trapped in Amber
Categories: adventure travel, amazon, Amerindians, author, food, foreign travel, garden of eden, global, lifestyle, novel, photography, rainforest, river, stinking toe, travel, trekking, Uncategorized, united nations, world, writer, writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “My Trek to Garden of Eden in search of Magic Tree with Stinking Toes.

  1. I know this fruit very well – but seems as though it has become extinct – I don’e it anymore in our markets. I think I will go on a ‘stinking toe trek’ myself, Maybe I will it at Garden of Eden, West Bank Demerara, Guyana.

  2. Interesting bit about this stinking toes…. but I thought amber came from pine pitch in the Baltic.

    • Thanks for stopping by Gunta.
      Amber comes from fossil tree resin. Yes, in Europe the Baltic ambers are from pine resin, while in Africa and South America, the resin come from the Hymenaea plant family.

  3. Do you have to hold your nose to eat it? Reminds me of a corn dog for some reason. I love trying new foods though.

    • You know, it’s ironic. That stink smell becomes so aromatic, it just draws that fruit into your mouth. Strange! 🙂

  4. I love to discover new fruit and vegetables! Even if they are only on the Internet. Best wishes!

  5. Have you ever seen a durian? I wonder if it has any medicinal value… Most people I know aren’t very big fans! (p.s. The stinky toe fruit looked crazy!)

    • I have seen a few variants of the durian. People cook young ones and make custards with older ones. The smell is strong but the stinking toe smell is much stronger 🙂
      I don’t know if the durian has any health benefits.

  6. Wow this is a beautiful and majestic tree! Belongs to Eden garden for sure!

  7. Very interesting post, Terry. What a beautiful tree!

  8. Fascinating post, Terry… what a juxtaposition, the Garden of Eden and a magic tree.
    Why aren’t we growing forests of the stuff and using it for all those ailments instead of drugs tested on animals for heaven’s sake? You notice the use of heaven in conjunction with paradise, Eden , magic etc!!!

  9. Fascinating and always so wonderful to learn more about the beneficial healing properties of trees and their fruit. Do you think a peg on the nose would help when eating this fruit? 😀

  10. Interesting to know the stinky fruit is delicious. thank you for this post.
    Ranu

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

